2022.09.21 [Updates]
35th TIFF jury

35th TIFF Competition jury
President of the International Competition jury Julie Taymor
→Comment & Profile
Competition jury
Jury Members

JuryShim Eun-kyung

Born on May 31, 1994 in Seoul, Korea. Debuted at age nine. Shim starred in smash hit films Sunny (2011) and Miss Granny (2014), both of which had Japanese remakes. In Japan, she received the 34th Takasaki Film Festival Best Actress Award with Blue Hour (2019) as well as the 43rd Japan Academy Prize Best Actress Award, the 74th Mainichi Film Award for Best Actress and the 11th TAMA Film Award Best New Actress at the 29th TAMA CINEMA FORUM. In recent years, she played her first leading role in a Japanese TV drama with NHK production “Indigo Area” (2021) and appeared in A Garden of Camellias (2021) and Seven Secretaries The Movie (2022).

JuryJoão Pedro Rodrigues
©Diego Sanchez

João Pedro Rodrigues is an internationally renowned Portuguese filmmaker. When he was eight years old, his father gave him a pair of binoculars and he decided to become an ornithologist. He always travels with his binoculars, to foray into nature and watch birds.
His work explores gender and human desire in all its guises — and disguises — reflecting the multifarious history of film, from classical genre to documentary and experimental film. His films have premiered and won prizes at the world’s foremost film festivals, including Cannes, Venice, Locarno, Toronto and Berlin. In 2016, the Pompidou Centre in Paris honored Rodrigues and his partner, João Rui Guerra da Mata, with a complete retrospective and installation exhibition.

JuryYanagijima Katsumi
Director of Photography

Joined Mifune Productions in 1972. Debuted as a cinematographer with CF Girl (1997, Hashimoto Izo).
Yanagijima worked on Boiling Point (1990, Kitano Takeshi), and has worked on 16 Kitano films up to now. His cinematography credits have reached over 70 films, including Sora ga konnani aoi wake ga nai (1993, Emoto Akira), Battle Royale (2000, Fukasaku Kinji), Go (2001, Yukisada Isao), Dear Doctor (2009,
Nishikawa Miwa), Like Someone in Love (2012, Abbas Kiarostami), Satoshi: A Move for Tomorrow (2016, Mori Yoshitaka) and Ito (2022, Yokohama Satoko). He has won Japan Academy Film Prizes in 2002 and 2004, Yokohama Film Festival Best Cinematographer in 1996 and 2009, and others.

JuryMarie-Christine de Navacelle
A Former Director of Institut Français

Marie-Christine de Navacelle has served as national chief curator, in charge of many cultural institutions in France and abroad. From 1976-1988 she was a curator at the Pompidou Center in Paris where she created “Cinema du Reel” a documentary film festival. From 1988-1995 she oversaw the film department in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and was appointed a board member of the French Cinematheque, the Cannes Film Festival and Unifrance film. She was director of the French Institute in Tokyo and Yokohama from 1996-2002, then in 2002-2003 she was the director of the French cultural centers in Cambodia. From 2003-2005 she was in charge of films at the French National library in Paris. She has published several books on films including “Frederic Wiseman” and “Tu n’as rien vu à Hiroshima” with unpublished photographs of Emmanuelle Riva.


Members of the Asian Future Jury

JurySaito Ayako
Professor, Meiji Gakuin University / President, Japan Society of Image Arts and Sciences

Saito Ayako is a professor in the Department of Art Studies, Faculty of Letters, at Meiji Gakuin University in Tokyo, Japan, specializing in film studies, psychoanalytic feminist theory, and gender criticism. She has written about Hitchcock, Fassbinder, actress Wakao Ayako, Tanaka Kinuyo and other women directors’ works, and gender representations in postwar Japanese cinema, to name a few.

JurySoros Sukhum

Soros Sukhum is regarded as the most important independent producer working in Thailand. He currently supports a generation of Thai filmmakers.
Soros is a first Thai producer who received a national Silapathorn Artist Award for Film and Video from Ministry Culture of Thailand. In 2020 he received a FIAPF Award for Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific Region. He co-produced Memoria by Apichatpong Weerasethakul and the anthology Ten Years Thailand showcased at the Cannes Film Festival.

JuryNishizawa Akihiro
General Manager, TOKYO THEATRES Co, Inc.

Nishizawa Akihiro joined TOKYO THEATRES Co, Inc. in 1992, working at Ginza Theatres Cinema, Cine Vivant Roppongi, Cine Saison Shibuya, etc. Currently, he is in charge of programming for TOKYO THEATRES’ cinemas, including Theatres Shinjuku, Humantrust Cinema Yurakucho, and Humantrust Cinema Shibuya. Since 2012, he has been organizing “Movies in the Unexperienced Zone”, a film festival featuring films that have not yet been released in Japan.

Official Partners